Holy Blatant Sexism, Batman!

So yeah, this actually got written.

Women’s judo: it’s disturbing to watch these girls beat each other up

Watching Gemma Gibbons gaining Britain’s first judo medal in 12 years, I found myself wondering: is women fighting each other violently a perfectly wholesome spectator sport?

With those judo contestants – and I realise this will probably sound appallingly sexist – I couldn’t help wondering about their soft limbs battered black and blue with bruises.

Holy crap.

The good news? As of right now, there are almost 700 comments on the thread, and they seem to be almost universally attacking the (male, of course) author for his condescending patriarchal vapidity. Does one need any more evidence to conclude that feminism is still relevant?

2 responses to “Holy Blatant Sexism, Batman!

  1. I must confess to once being against female boxing, because I did not believe that beautiful faces should be subject to physical abuse. I no longer hold such a benevolent sexist attitude, thank God. As far as I am concerned, being in possession of a vagina is never a reason to deny opportunity freely given to those without one. And given the prevalence of male to female violence in society, there is no harm in girls and women knowing how to defend themselves anyway. Indeed I believe there may even be an argument for compulsion here

    Also, I am glad that I once held that particular opinion. Now that may seem like a strange thing to say, but it is evidence of my growth as a human being. For if one never changes, then how can one measure their own moral development? But I do not overtly congratulate myself on such consciousness raising however, as there is more to accomplish. So while acknowledging improvement is fine, it needs to be quietly referenced not loudly announced

  2. I am glad that I once held that particular opinion [because] it is evidence of my growth as a human being.

    That’s an interesting perspective, and I can see how it would be personally meaningful. I agree that we shouldn’t be particularly remorseful about bad ideas we no longer hold. (Though I can see an argument in favor of remorse at not having disabused ourselves of them sooner!) I also think it’s good to remind people that being rational isn’t simply a state you achieve–it’s an ongoing imperfect process that involves actively considering your (often subconsciously held) beliefs about the world–and being willing to talk about one’s shortcomings, past and present, also serves as an implicit encouragement to those who haven’t traveled as far on their journey of critical thinking.

    Perhaps most importantly, it’s also a reality check on ourselves.

Your feedback is welcome and encouraged.

