I’m Guilty of This

My hobby: using the more obscure meanings of "affect" and "effect" to try to trip up amateur grammar nazis.

XKCD. Good for what ails ya.

I’ve even done it a few times here. Sometimes I think better of it and change it before clicking publish, but only sometimes.

2 responses to “I’m Guilty of This

  1. Haha. I had to take a writing quiz recently and it mostly consisted of questions testing my ability to distinguish between ‘we’re’, ‘where’ an ‘wear’ and the like. I find such grammatical issues mildly irritating (like a buzzing fly) if I’m reading a log but in a book or other professional setting, they’re big issues. Also, too many of them makes you look quite stupid.

    So, I could never do it, even as a joke. I just find it too irritating.

  2. I’m rewriting my comment to correct all the bad spelling. 🙂

    “Haha. I had to take a writing quiz recently and it mostly consisted of questions testing my ability to distinguish between ‘we’re’, ‘where’ and ‘wear’ and the like. I find such grammatical issues mildly irritating (like a buzzing fly) if I’m reading a blog but in a book or other professional setting, they’re big issues. Also, too many of them makes you look quite stupid.

    So, I could never do it, even as a joke. I just find it too irritating.”

Your feedback is welcome and encouraged.

